Standards You Need to Know for 2018

One step forward, two steps back seemed to be part of the theme for wireless. 10G 802.11AC was ratified some time ago. This standard created 10G capable Wi-Fi. The trick was that two Category 6A cables are required to the access point. Assuming that companies would have a hard time upgrading and installing these cables, chip manufacturers created two new standards for 2.5Gb/s and 5Gb/s chips that run over 5e and 6 cabling respectively. These are a change from moving forward with higher speeds to moving backward with more interim speed options.

Read the source article at Paige Datacom Solutions

Categories: Fiber, SCN, Standards

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s